But where else might you find gluten other than wheat? A majority of grains contain gluten including barley, rye, spelt, kamut, farro, and durum. However, there are a couple of grains that are naturally gluten free, those being rice, oats, corn, millet, and buckwheat. Despite these grains being gluten free, it is common to find cross-contamination due to co-mingling during processing.
Nowadays, we are seeing gluten containing grains not only in their whole form or floured form but in a plethora of processed foods. Long past is the day when salad dressings, condiments, soups, sandwich meats and more didn’t contain gluten. Gluten-containing grains are often used in processed foods as a thickening agent.